Home > Uncategorized > Success to What End?

Success to What End?

I’ve learned a lot in the past couple weeks since restarting my whole online presence. The renovation of my home on the web started the weekly scheduled philosophy shows with my friend Tommy Wyderko. So far we have done two with the most recent one being about the values of our lives. I went to a leadership conference last week here on campus at UMD and learned that I value success a lot. I’ve learned a lot about myself and what makes me tick  which includes this need for success. I’ve been doing a lot of reading online about business and entrepreneurship because I am in the Entrepreneurship and Innovation Honors Program here at the University of Maryland. With the recent death of Steve Jobs, many people have been commenting on his business strategies and techniques and how he essentially ruled his company with an iron fist. He wasn’t satisfied until he reached what he considered perfect. Apparently he was ruthless and relentless on his journey to creating the perfect consumer electronics and that was his way of achieving success. If was very effective but it all depends on the perspective you take. He was successful in the way that he revolutionized the smartphone, mp3, and tablet industries but was probably unsuccessful in the strain on the relationships he had with his employees. Everybody has their own approaches to what their consider success and how they will achieve it.

It is also important to realize that he was battling a rare form of cancer and it was a fight that Jobs ultimately lost. You need to take into consideration that Jobs almost lost his life before and took numerous medical leaves. Almost losing your life can definitely change your outlook on it yet Jobs couldn’t be stopped and continued on to release product after product until his dying day. One thing that amazed me though was the fact that Jobs had little to no philanthropy efforts. Success to me is meant to be shared. Once you have built an empire and made billions of dollars, the least you can do is to give back to those who need it. Jobs, while one of the most successful businessmen of my generation, in my opinion needed to share the wealth with the people who aren’t able to have similar success stories based on their current economic situations. Another aspect of success in my opinion is that you can be successful by helping others reach success. Another great is doing exactly what I think success should be modeled after. Bill Gates and the Gates Foundation, give back to communities who need it most and that is using your success to create more success and that is what we should all aim for. (Disclaimer I am a PC not a Mac)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. James C. Bailey
    October 26, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Allan

    Your wed site is a delight and I know it will be used by many. I have always used THE FORMULA FOR SUCCESS during all my work. The law is:

    1. KNOW WHAT YOU WANT
    2, WANT IT BAD ENOUGH;
    3. HAVE CONFIDENT EXPECTATION.
    4. HAVE PERSISTENT DETERMINATION
    5. BE WILLING TO PAY THE PRICE FOR ITS ATTAINM,ENT

    THE LAW ALWAYS WORKS (Steve Jobs is an example)

    Another bit of knowledge is : THE TOUCHSTONE OF POSITIVITY.
    Defines as: WILL THE EFFORT MAKE MANKIND BETTER.

    Granddad JIm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

