Home > Uncategorized > Fantasies

Fantasies

With all of the homework and exams that go along with being a double major in engineering and business, life can get very stressful at times so this post is being dedicated to the breaks that I take in college. Recently I was given a brand new tv for my dorm room as an early Christmas present from my parents. Naturally, I decided to bring my Xbox 360 from home and hook it up. Well let’s just say that my productivity has gone a little downhill. This does give me the material for a blog post however. I have been playing Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim for a while now and after dedicated hours of my life to it, I have gained a good amount of insight into the fantasy world. When I say fantasy I don’t exclusively mean a land with dragons and elves but a place where your imagination runs wild and free. It is a place that has allowed me to experience things that are not only improbably to occur but likely impossible to happen without breaking a few laws of physics somewhere along the line. This fantasy is a necessary part of life and human nature in fact, because we all use our thoughts and memories to personfiy and create a magical place we call our own within our subconscious.

 Fantasies serve an important role in an individual’s life because they provide us with the opportunity to escape the doldrums and stresses of life, even if it is only for a short duration. Escapism is an important part of life that our fantasies tap into because they shift our focus away from unpleasant circumstances to a place where we are in control. Fantasies take reality and combine it with your imagination so you build an optimal environment all within the confines of your mind. Fantasies are also used to express your hopes and dreams. I can’t speak for everyone but I often play out what I hope my future will look like in my mind and it fuels my motivation to make that fantasy a reality. I essentially get a window into an alternate dimension where everything I want to happen does. It is truly an amazing gift the human race has been bestowed with and I definitely recommend that everyone should utilize it to its full potential.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

